Haymarket, VA

(Part-Time Weekends:  $16/hr)

 

Good Afternoon Friends,

We are looking for part-time help with our special needs son, JP.  Our most urgent need is for help on Saturdays, but we have hours approved for Sunday as well.  Please forward the job description below to anyone you know of that might be interested in a position like this.

Thank you!

Gina

 

PART-TIME WEEKEND SPECIAL NEEDS CARE POSITION

Family seeking a Caregiver to assist in providing care for a 13-year-old son, named JP, with a rare genetic condition called Duplication 15q Syndrome (http://www.dup15q.org).

 

Family is located in Haymarket, VA.

 

Position is part-time starting immediately SAT AND/OR SUN 7:00 AM-3:00 PM

 

Pay $16/hour

 

JP communicates using a speech generating device, loves music, dancing, animals, reading books, swimming, riding his adaptive bike, going for walks and playing with siblings and friends. He also enjoys making things (arts & crafts), playing board games, Uno, Mad Libs, going on outings to 5-Below & Michael’s, and participating in school clubs and activities.

 

JP is very intelligent and understands all that is happening around him; however, his expressive communication is severely impacted by his seizure disorder and motor disabilities.  He needs support with communication as well as physical support with mobility, transferring, and all aspects of daily life including feedings and toileting.

 

This position is ideal for individuals interested in working in the fields of special education, speech therapy, occupational therapy, physical therapy, recreational therapy, or music therapy.

 

JOB RESPONSIBILITIES:

Caregiver will assist parent with implementing daily routines, including but not limited to the following activities: dressing, toileting, brushing teeth, preparing/cleaning up feedings, assisting with physical exercise, visual and auditory stimulation, sensory motor activities, educational activities, and supporting communication including interacting with his siblings and family members at home and social activities away from home. Caregiver will help with light housekeeping chores related to JP’s care such as laundry, cleaning up after feedings, wiping down bathroom, and errands relating to the child. Caregiver will accompany child on family outings, community outings, doctor appointments, and therapy appointments, etc.  Caregiver will accompany child to therapeutic recreation activities and weekend outings with family (i.e. Tops Soccer http://www.pwsi.org/Default.aspx?tabid=546234, visits with family etc.)

 

EXPERIENCE & QUALIFICATIONS:

Ideal candidate will have experience either working with special needs children or other child care experience, personal experience with an individual with disabilities, or educational focus in physical therapy, occupational therapy, speech therapy, or special education. Applicants must demonstrate reliability, positive attitude, patience, creativity, and openness to experimenting with different approaches to learning through play and child directed activities and most of all believe in what is possible for children with complex conditions.

 

Applicants must be at least 18 years old and have own transportation. This position is funded through a Virginia Medicaid Waiver Program, pays $16/hour, and applicants must pass a criminal background check as well as a Virginia Department of Social Services (Child Protective Services) background check in order to be eligible for employment as well as complete agency OSHA and medical training.

 

Applicants should email resume or relevant work/experience history, educational background, and brief explanation of their interest in the position, to Gina Peters at ginap@me.com.  If you have any questions concerning this opportunity, please do not hesitate to contact me.

 

PREVIOUS CAREGIVER ENDORSEMENT

“My name is Silja Sieger, I am an occupational therapist from Germany and I worked for the Peters family for 2 years. My personal goal for JP was to teach him as much independence as possible and through these last two years he was consistently working and learning with me in his daily life. I would consider this work not at all as another “babysitting” job, it is way more. While going with JP and his mom to specialist appointments, therapies and school, I learned a lot. Getting to know all the equipment, getting input from up to 6 different therapists, assisting JP with communicating and homeschooling and attending middle school with him taught me incredible things, which definitely made me a better OT but also a better person. I could not have learned so many different things in such a short period of time in a “normal” job and I am really thankful that the family gave me this opportunity. Even though JP is nonverbal and doesn’t have as much control of his body as other kids, he is really smart, funny and easy going – but he can be a handful if he wants to! His smiles, laughter and happiness are contagious and there is not a single day without fun and excitement in this house! I can recommend this job 100% with the best conscience!”

~Silja Sieger